Claire Roess receives Townes Scholarship

Oakwood High School Senior Claire E. Roess has been named recipient of the Townes Scholarship from Furman University in Greenville, South Carolina. Ms. Roess is one of only ten students in the country to receive this first-time scholarship award for the college year 2009-2010.

Furman is confident the Scholars will become future leaders in their home states and communities. In addition to a merit tuition grant, the Townes Scholarship also provides for participation in the Public Leadership Scholars Seminar which connects

Furman students with government and civic leaders to foster community service involvement and a better understanding of issues facing our nation. Dr. Charles H. Townes, the Scholarship namesake, graduated from Furman University in 1935. He was awarded the Nobel Prize for his contributions to the invention of the laser and maser.

64 attend Ohio Model United Nations

Sixty-four Oakwood High School students attended Ohio Model United Nations (OMUN) in Columbus, Ohio. These dedicated students took on the United Nations Assembly with creative and thought-provoking issues that face our world today and received the following awards:


Runner up for World Problem Solving contest
Kaitlyn Reynolds

Ohio Model United Nations Counsel Presidents for 2010

Mason Cammel and Tyler Dillon

The students represented seven different nations, to include:

Croatia- Kristie Enns, Jessica Herringer, Sarah McCallister, Jenny McCarthy, Alexandra Morris, Catherine Ordeman, Sofia Snyder, Stephanie Telek, Teresa Terrell, Amy Thie, and Margaret Thompson.

Resolution Topic: Regulation Organization of Genetic Engineering

Honduras- Sara French, Jessica Garrity, Erin Johnson, Madeline Learner, Kaitlyn Reynolds, Abby Scharrer, and Mel Ward.

Resolution Topic: International Border Disputes

Lithuania- Tristan Anstadt, Erin Golden, Hunter Hubbard, Audrey Maney, Madie Maney, Cody Officer, Rita Olis, Duncan Richards, Drew Smith, and Colin Ward.

Resolution Topic: Human Trafficking

Sierra Leone- Katherine Anderson, Maddie Burke, Grace Hahn, ME Labrie, Tiffany Loftus, Rachel Ramey, and Sophie Shepard.

Resolution Topic: Schistosome Flatworms Damage Country’s Health and Economy

Swaziland- Christina Borchers, Autumn Bruno, Mason Cammel, Tyler Dillon, Ericha Griep, Viktoria Harlan, Jordan Kolar, Hannah McCarthy, Ellen Viereckl, and Sara Wilhoit.

Resolution Topic: The Establishment of A Meteorological Research Committee

Tanzania- Ally Brock, Grant Cothrel, Lizzie Klingensmith, Peter McMillan, Gabe Robinson, Laura Schaeter, Sam Smith, Erin Taylor. Katie Taylor, and Sammi Vanderburgh.

Resolution Topic: The Abatement Against the Rift Valley

Turkey- Michael Chapman, Sara Denka, Ginny Beth Fulford, Laura German, Caroline Hartel, Stephanie Hemmelgarn, Lizzy Johnson, A.J. Montesano, and Adam Smith.

Resolution Topic: Longing for Literacy

Many thanks to Siobhan Tellez. Siobhan was nominated as a Vice Counsel President during the 2008 OMUN Conference. Due to her talent and commitment to the program she was immediately recognized and was promoted to Counsel President for the 2009 conference. Siobhan represented Oakwood High School well.

Many thanks to Mrs. Barb Telek for assisting with chaperoning. Her outstanding support and dedication to our students made our stay at Ohio Model United Nations effortless.

Speech and Debate scores at Rotary Invitational

Oakwood’s Speech and Debate Team enjoyed success at the Oakwood Rotary Invitational. In dramatic interpretation, Joanna Draper (10) was first, Nora Murphy (12) was second, and Lindsay McWilliams (12) was fifth. In humorous interpretation, Tyler Rife (11) was first and Dillon Corrigan (11) was fifth. Melanie Ward (10) and Rob Mitchell (10) placed second in duo interpretation. Maddie Shearer (11) won original oratory with a piece she wrote called “I wanna hear a poem.” Kristen Foos (10) was fifth in prose and poetry reading. In impromptu speaking, Michael Light (10) and Amy Malone (9) placed second and fifth, respectively. In United States extemporaneous speaking, Tyler Dillon (11), Katie Hoffman (10), and Eli Collinson (9) spoke about domestic issues to place first, second and fourth. Alex Tatham (10) and Tim Judge (10) spoke about foreign news in international extemporaneous speaking to finish second and third.

The Oakwood Speech and Debate Team would like to thank the support of the parent volunteers who dedicated hours and to the tournament as well as the National Honor Society volunteers who came during the day. The team would also like to thank the tremendous efforts of its coaches, Brianna Doyal and Alex Kordik, in organizing and scheduling the tournament.


Harmony to represent OHS at LaSertoma banquet

The Dayton LaSertoma Club, at the 49th annual banquet on February 11, 2009, will recognize twenty-five senior students from public and private high schools for service to their school and community. The banquet will be held at the Presidential Banquet Center, Kettering, beginning at 6:30 p.m.

Each high school in Montgomery and Preble Counties has been asked to recommend one student to receive this honor. Oakwood High School’s representative will be Alexandra Harmony of 256 Aberdeen Dr.

Miss Harmony is an excellent candidate to represent OHS. She has been involved in Oakwood Student council volunteer activities for three years, a volunteer with Oakwood Giving for two years, a member of Varsity O for three years, and a member of the National Honor Society among other organizations and activities.

These students have volunteered countless hours in a wide variety of activities. They have served as mentors, coaches, and tutors for younger students; served at homeless shelters, nursing homes, and hospitals; and worked on summer projects in and out of the country. In addition, they have spent many hours in sports, music, drama, school government, and academic endeavors within their school.

These 25 students represent the best in youth and should make us proud of our future society. One of these students will be selected to represent the Greater Dayton Area at the Regional level, progressing to the International award to be presented in Richmond, VA at the organization’s International Convention in June, 2009.

OJHS/OHS PTO meeting Feb. 12

The next Oakwood Junior and Senior High School PTO meeting is Thursday, Feb. 12 at 11:45 a.m. in Room 211. There will be reports from Superintendent Mary Jo Scalzo, Principals Joe Boyle and Dan Weckstein.

All parents are encouraged to come.




top of page

February 10, 2009
Volume 18, No. 6

front page
'round town




















The Oakwood Register
site design by Hamilton Innovative